Reviews



Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

My little room on the third floor had wonderful sea view, the bedsheets were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The floors were a bit squeaky, but that didn't make my stay at Alexandra Hotel less enjoyable. The gentleman at the reception gave me useful information on places worth visiting and was most welcoming and kind. I'll definitely return and stay longer next time.

Reviewer:Iudit S | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Eastbourne Seafront Hotel - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and clean room, Excellent breakfast, warm welcome. Found a good Fish Restaurant literally around the corner. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr David Shakespeare buy a g | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Theatre Travellers- Rating 4/5

Late booking to the Alexandra Hotel and the Receptionist who took the booking was very good.She selected for us a nice large twin bedroom with stunning views of the sea and Eastbourne pier.The room was a little bit tired and needs updating but was very clean.Would not hesitate to stay here again.Ideal for 1 or 2 night stays when visiting Eastbourne.

Reviewer:Mr David S | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


quaint but charming - Rating 3/5

We were given small but clean rooms with the features and decor of times long past. Friendly staff welcomed us and ushered us through the traditional breakfast in the following morning. We were quite happy given the moderate price and excellent location.

Reviewer:Bernd G | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Great location - Rating 3/5

Lovely staff members, who were always more than happy to help!The room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the seafront.The only thing I would say is the standard of the breakfast could be improved.

Reviewer:Yasmin Rowan BUY A G | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


mini break - Rating 5/5

thoroughly enjoyed my stay with you room was very nice and comfy food was nice many thanks to the staff who made me feel really welcome especially winston many thanks look forward to my next visit

Reviewer:david o | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Eastbourne hospitality. - Rating 4/5

Booked for two nights . Staff welcoming and friendly, but professional.Rooms adequate and clean. Enjoyed warm welcome and stay. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs Fisher Buy a g | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Comfortable Friendly Hotel - Rating 4/5

Staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.Rooms were clean and tidy. Good atmosphere throughout.

Reviewer:Christopher B | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Eastbourne Tennis accommodation - Rating 5/5

Ideal hotel for the tennis and right on the sea front. Room comfortable and has sea view as advertised which is lovely and relaxing to be able to hear the sound of waves. Breakfast tasty and filling. Staff very friendly and attentive. No complaints whatsoever! Will definitely return here next year when attending the tennis again.

Reviewer:Cynthia B | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Great holiday - Rating 4/5

A lovely friendly hotel. Staff very friendly and very helpful. The decor is dated but very clean.

Reviewer:Mrs Sheila M | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Very homely - Rating 5/5

The service was Great. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Very clean room.I would highly recommend staying at tge Alexandra hotel .

Reviewer:Leanne P | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


A week in June- Rating 5/5

I was on my own as my wife could not come to Eastbourne this year. As usual the staff were very friendly and very efficient. The food was good and the room was clean and well-maintained.

Reviewer:Michael and Jennifer W | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Alexandra Hotel Review - Rating 4/5

The staff at the Alexandra Hotel in Eastbourne were very good in making sure that we managed to book our room when we wanted it. It was slightly short notice and for a busy Tennis tournament week. Our stay was very pleasant and the staff could not have been more helpful.The room and rate were good but wish the breakfast was included in the basic rate.

Reviewer:Omkumari S | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Hotel right for the Tennis - Rating 5/5

enjoyed our stay, hotel ideally situated for the Tennis .

Reviewer:RICHARD H | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Excellent hotel- Rating 5/5

We stay in Eastbourne every year for the tennis and have stayed many reasonably priced hotels nearby and the Alexandra is the best ! Nice airy rooms, bright breakfast room, good breakfast and charming staffPerfect location on the sea front and round the corner from shops and restaurantsWe'll be back next year

Reviewer:helene m | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Tennis Week - Rating 4/5

Great location for tennis excellent breakfast and a warm welcome from Colin and the other staff. Hopefully be back next year.

Reviewer:George C | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Friendly Hotel- Rating 5/5

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful.The rooms are comfortable with plenty of storage.The food is excellent with superb breakfasts.There is entertainment twice a week which is very good.There is a wide area to explore.I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Mrs Mary C | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely hotel- Rating 4/5

We have stayed before and not been disappointed friendly staff clean room would recommend

Reviewer:Keith D | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Cheap and cheerful- Rating 3/5

Basic but clean and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Jeremy G | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Great hosts - Rating 4/5

Great hosts at Alexandra hotel. Enjoyed our quiet evening at the beautiful coast.

Reviewer:Anurag S | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Very pleasant staff- Rating 5/5

Old fashioned hotel but clean and welcoming,would book again.

Reviewer:Michael G | Fri 31st May 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay, very friendly and welcoming staff, got upgraded to a sea view, room was bright and airy and comfy bed.Not many guests but staff opened the bar for us, breakfast was great plenty of choice, will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Gemma H | Mon 20th May 2019 | 1 year ago


stay at Alexandra Hotel- Rating 5/5

Have stayed at Alexandra Hotel on a number of occasions and have always been welcomed and enjoyed our stays. This time was the same and look forward to staying there again in the future. CLEAN, GOOD FOOD AND VERY ENJOYABLEWOULD RECOMEND IT TO ANYONE.

Reviewer:Anthony B | Tue 14th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Friendly retreat- Rating 3/5

We were made very welcome throughout our stay here, the hotel itself seemed very tired and our bed wasn't that comfortable and the room was cold during the night,the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the lounge seating area with sea view.The full English Breakfast in the morning was very nice.

Reviewer:Darren Q | Mon 6th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Staff pleasant and helpful, comfortable room with great see view, would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:M. D | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Late booking- Rating 3/5

Spent Saturday night at the hotel over Easter. Being Easter most hotels were booked. So we booked into the Alexandria. The woman at reception was most helpful and friendly . I had asked for a high quiet room, which we were given. The breakfast was good and overall the stay was good. I think the price was a little expensive for a 2 star hotel.

Reviewer:Martin D | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Recommended- Rating 5/5

I had a wonderful and relaxing stay.Thank you for your kind hospitality.

Reviewer:Mary Ann H | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Alexandra Hotel is worth a visit - Rating 5/5

I found this a most comfortable and friendly hotel in a lovely part of town. Ideal for walking and town. Room was clean and always plenty of teabags,coffee and milk topped up daily.

Reviewer:Christine G | Wed 23rd Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Best seaview - Rating 5/5

Nice stay with a perfekt room and a very warm welcome... 5min walk in the city and a pefekt seaview... nice evenings in the lounge with a nice (very small) bar... perfekt service and and a good English breakfast. Thank you

Reviewer:Helge K | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


A lovely hotel on the seafront- Rating 5/5

I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had been upgraded to a bigger room at no extra cost.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and warm, and clean and comfortable.

Reviewer:David F | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice place - Rating 4/5

Very quite hotel very clean &good staff I would stay again

Reviewer:Darren T | Wed 18th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Clean basic room - Rating 4/5

Room was decent enough and cleanCould have done with the TV having more than a couple of channels, and some blackout curtains as very tall room with big curtains so was too light by 5amThe breakfast made up for it though, delicious and super fast serviceFriendly staff and the courtesy call they gave me was nice though I didn't chat to them much

Reviewer:Peter B | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Birthday special - Rating 5/5

I booked this hotel on booking.com as a birthday treat for my wife.On arrival we were met by the manager, Winston, who looked after us and ensured that we were settled in. The building itself looks a little tired and in need of modernising, which probably accounts for its 2 star rating, but the attention and courtesy given to us by the staff was second to none. I could not expect to receive better treatment in a 5 star establishment.We will return next year!

Reviewer:Michael C | Thu 19th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


excellent locationfriendly staff - Rating 5/5

The staff are very friendly and welcominggreatview from sea view roombed very comfyfood was superbfacilities are goodgreat location10 min from town and train stationhad 11 days here and very well looked afteram returning for another visit September

Reviewer:julie w | Sat 24th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Back again - Rating 5/5

Back again, we love it here. Maria &the staff cannot do enough for us. Food is excellent. Rooms are very comfortable &views are perfect!Will be back again, Thank you Bruce &Nuala

Reviewer:Bruce/Nula Hilton R | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Our Stay - Rating 4/5

Clean Friendly and helpful staff, with good wholesome food, a nice place to stay

Reviewer:Colin F | Wed 28th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Superb 2STAR Hotel - Rating 5/5

For a 2STAR Hotel this was a great Hotel.The breakfast room is big and very nice decorated with stunning views to the sea. There was some minor problems but when I've meet Winston, the boss, he sorted all out with a smile. Great stuff working there esspecially in breakfast room. All of the waiters were very friendly. Thank you!

Reviewer:Linda Margarete H | Fri 18th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


very friendly and helpful - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Alexander. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Lovely dining room and breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Teresa S | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A Restful Holiday - Rating 4/5

My friend and I were very happy with our stay at The Alexandra although very quiet it met our needs.It was very clean and the staff were very helpful.Would definitely visit again and recommend it.

Reviewer:Elizabeth H | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A Restful Holiday - Rating 4/5

My friend and I were very happy with our stay at The Alexandra although very quiet it met our needs.It was very clean and the staff were very helpful.Would definitely visit again and recommend it.

Reviewer:Elizabeth H | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Mini break - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alexandra hotel.The staff were excellent especially Alice and Winston who helped us with our every need.The food was good and the entertainment excellent.We will definitely return next Spring.

Reviewer:Mr. William R | Sun 16th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Good choice - Rating 4/5

Alexandra was just what we wanted it to be. Double room and and shower room were fine and the requested sea view was lovely.Dining room and our breakfasts and dinners were enjoyable and the staff and service were excellent (thank you again). Parking outside the hotel is very good and very cheap but as the wardens are 'eagle eyed'do make sure you totally understand the system. We will be returning to this venue.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs H | Fri 14th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Autumn Break - Rating 5/5

My sister and I have just returned from a 4 night break.As usual, we found the accommodation to be very clean and the staff friendly and helpful and attentive to anything we needed.It was a very relaxing and comfortable break - thank you Maria and the rest of the staff.We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Reviewer:Susan C | Sat 8th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Another pleasant stay at the Alexandra - Rating 5/5

we have been staying at this hotel each year when attending a conference at the Congress theatre complex for at least 10 years. The new owners have lived up to the family run values we appreciate in a hotel.the food and accommodation is good value for money and it's location means we can get from hotel to conference in less than five minutes.We have booked again for the 2015 conference.

Reviewer:Mr+Mrs W | Sun 28th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Staying at Alexandra - Rating 3/5

We have stayed there for a few years now and have always been made welcome. The hotel is convenient to The Congress Theatre etc where we are attending. The breakfast is good. The hotel itself needs a lot of work done on it but I am sure you are aware of it and some of our friends won't stay there anymore.

Reviewer:Jackie P | Sat 5th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Friendly family run Hotel - Rating 4/5

Situated right on the seafront in easy walking distance from the Station (for us anyway. We found the staff friendly and accomodation comfortable.

Reviewer:Mr. John J | Mon 12th Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


short break - Rating 4/5

Received a very warm welcomeRelaxing and comfortable stay good home style cooking would recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Steve V | Sat 3rd Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


Alexandra Hotel - Rating 4/5

A large single room - they are usually "broom cupboards"- with the luxury of a sea view!Breakfast was fine - I can't eat a full English. The room was available from 1.00pm, nice and early compared with other b and b.Lift was very small, but that was the only criticism.I would certainly stay at the Alexandra Hotel again.

Reviewer:Miss. S R H | Sat 22nd Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


good stay - Rating 4/5

Thank You, pleasant stay with nice rooms.lovely breakfast service, very professional staff.Also great location.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee A | Sun 19th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


WEEKEND STAY - Rating 4/5

WE OFTEN VIST EASTBOURNE AND NOW WE HAVE A GREAT PLACE TO REST OUR HEADS. FRIENLY SERVICE WITH A SMILEGREAT BREAKFAST.

Reviewer:Mr. AllanS | Thu 9th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


Friendly - Rating 3/5

enjoyed our stay will stay there again

Response

Mr. WolfeThank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Alexandra Hotel.Could we ask you to write a similar review on Trip Advisor, which is the most widely read HotelReview Site. Many thanks and look foreward to meeting you both again. Ken & Sue Dobell

Reviewer:Mr. Colin W | Tue 17th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Was the best room ever!

Response

Isabela - Thank you for your kind comment.If you have time can we ask you to put this comment on the Trip Advisor Website, which is themost widely read Hotel comparison Website. We hope to see you again. Ken Dobell

Reviewer:Miss. Isabela C | Tue 10th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Thanks - Rating 4/5

A very clean welcoming hotel. Very close to the town, the seafront, and Devonshire Park tennis. Would certainly try to go there again.

Response

Dear Mrs. Hinton,Thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel. We really appreciate this.If you have time can we ask you to post a similar report on the 'Trip Advisor' Websitewhich is the most read site for Hotel Reviews. Many thanksKen & Sue Dobell

Reviewer:Mrs. Penelope H | Fri 22nd Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


short break with a view of the sea - Rating 4/5

We throughly enjoyed our stay the room had a spectacular view out over the Sea was comfotable and the breakfast excelant as were the staff.

Response

Dear Mr. BarmbyThank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. We really appreciate these.If you have the time can you possibly post your comments on the Trip Advisor Website.Trip Advisor is the most widely read Website for Hotel comments.Many thanksKen & Sue DobellOwnersAlexandra Hotel, Eastbourne

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Wed 20th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Delightful seafront hotel - Rating 5/5

My first time at this hotel - it is very comfortable. My single room had full sea view. Unusually today, it offers single rooms at single prices - and is very good value. The owners offer helpful and interesting advice, and the staff are very obliging. It is fully serviced and the all ensuite rooms include tea/coffee making as well as TV. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Ms. Debbie F | Sun 10th Jun 2012 | 8 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

This is my second stay at the Alexandra and it is a great small hotel in a great location. On the seafront near theatres and downtown. It is independently run which gives it character. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner, and offers excellent food and beverage. For the price it cannot be beaten. The only slight drawbacks are that there is only one small lift, and the parking outside the hotel is metered seven days a week (but the hotel gives you vouchers which cost a pound a day).

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret F | Sun 10th Jun 2012 | 8 years ago


Just me ... - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the Alexandra before but with a group .....was a little nervous about staying alone for the first time anywhere but can I just say, there was no need .....made to feel welcome, room comfortable and breakfast great ......would thoroughly recommend the Alexandra ..... 20 out of 10 to my mind ...!

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol B | Mon 21st May 2012 | 8 years ago